Schengen Agreement 14 June 1985

06 Oct Schengen Agreement 14 June 1985

The Schengen Agreement (German: /ˈʃɛŋ assister/) is a treaty that led to the creation of the European Schengen Area, in which internal border controls were largely abolished. It was signed on 14 June 1985 near the city of Schengen, Luxembourg, by five of the ten Member States of the European Economic Community at the time. It proposed measures to phase out border controls at the common borders of signatories, including checks on vehicles at reduced speed allowing vehicles to cross borders without stopping, which give residents of border areas the freedom to cross borders outside fixed checkpoints, and the harmonisation of visa policy. [1] Differences of opinion between Member States led to an impasse with regard to the abolition of border controls within the Community, but in 1985 five of the ten Member States at the time – Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany – signed an agreement on the gradual abolition of checks at common borders. The agreement was signed on the princess marie-astrid boat on the Moselle, near the city of Schengen, Luxembourg,[5] where the territories of France, Germany and Luxembourg meet. Three of the signatories, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, had already abolished common border controls within the framework of the Benelux Economic Union. [Citation required] 2. No Contracting Party may conclude with one or more third countries, without the prior agreement of the other Contracting Parties, agreements aimed at simplifying or abolishing border controls, subject to the right of the Member States of the European Communities to conclude such agreements jointly. On 14 June 1985, the Federal Republic of Germany, France, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands signed the Schengen Agreement on the progressive abolition of checks at common borders. The agreement is named after the small town of Luxembourg, on the border with France and Germany, where it was signed.

If a person is already the subject of an alert in the Schengen Information System, a Contracting Party issuing another alert has reached an agreement with the Contracting Party which entered the first alert on the submission of the call for tenders. To this end, the Contracting Parties may also adopt general provisions. – for the Kingdom of Belgium: members of the judicial police attached to the Public Prosecutor`s Office (criminal police subordinate to the public prosecutor`s office), of the “gendarmerie” and of the communal police (communal police) and of customs officers, under the conditions laid down in the appropriate bilateral agreements referred to in paragraph 6, as regards their powers with regard to illicit trafficking in narcotic drugs and psychotropic substances; trafficking in arms and explosives and the illicit transport of toxic and dangerous wastes; 1. Any Member State of the European Communities may become a party to this Convention. Accession shall be the subject of an agreement between that State and the Contracting Parties. This situation means that non-Schengen EU states have few formally binding options to influence the development and development of Schengen rules; their options will be effectively reduced to approval or withdrawal from the agreement. However, prior to the adoption of certain new legislation, consultations will be held with the countries concerned. [14] 4. . .


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.